Green & Nature

ខែមករា 7, 2010 at 4:04 ល្ងាច មតិ 11

Corrected by T. Yamada, 12/31/09

Translated by Yin Luoth, 12/14/09

 Read this story in Khmer:  Nature and Green

 

 

Nature and Green

by Sok Chanphal

  

Once in the afternoon, there was a strange heavy rain.  The atmosphere inside the hut turned dark.  A woman was sitting by her husband.  She was holding a needle and thread, mending torn clothes under the red light of a kerosene lamp. A flicker of lightening periodically lit up the darkness in the hut.

The door and windows of the hut were closed to prevent the rain from getting inside, except for a very small window where a boy, looking sad and lonesome, sat staring at the rain drops.   It was dark outside this destitute hut, only the shadow of the trees pierced by silver shards of rain could be seen.  The tender sight of this young boy was like the gentle raindrops whose steadfast falling allowed his feelings to fly away.

The name of this boy is Nature. His personality is fully covered by the definition of his name.  Nature is a quiet young boy, his words have golden value.  He likes to stare at the rain and considers its sound to be his favorite music.

At the moment this boy’s eyes are focused on the raindrops. His mind has flashed back to an incident that happened this morning at the river where he picked up a seed from the water.  The seed is round like a little glass ball colored black like a piece of pearl.  He doesn’t understand why he is so fond of that seed.  Without knowing why, the boy holds the seed tightly in his hand and suddenly runs out of the hut into the rain….

Nature is me, I-myself.  At the time I ran out, it was into a vast field behind my hut.  It was very cold under the rain.  I picked a piece of bamboo, ripped  with a sharp end to dig into the ground in order to bury my seed, hoping that  in the future this spot would certainly have some cool shade. 

Three days have passed.  My healthy seed has produced a lovely sprout.  Since then, I’ve had a friend to chat with.  Every day I nurture and take care of that sprout. I have a feeling that an angel has offered me that seed since I prayed for a best friend in my life. 

Time has passed.  The little sprout has continued to grow under my eyes, starting from one leaf to two leaves, until it has spread into branches and finally became a big adorable tree.  No one would know what kind of tree it is.  That is why I gave it the name Green, because it has green leaves, fresh green leaves more than any other tree.  Green was cool; its trunk was big and smooth. I could happily tilt my back to lean against it.  I often fell asleep under Green’s shade and dreamed that Green knew how to speak to me.

I remember one day, I was sitting with my back tilted against Green’s trunk until I fell asleep. I dreamed that Green woke me up because it was going to rain. In my dream, Green’s little leaves fell over my head, and I suddenly woke up.  I brought my book back into my hut and then the rain fell.  I took off my shirt and ran back to Green.  My mother yelled at me, “It is raining, why are you still lingering with that tree?  Aren’t you afraid of getting hit by lightening? Come back to the hut! No matter what, I did not listen to my mother. At that time I was just thinking about how I wanted to play with Green in the rain, and I certainly believed that Green would protect me from being hit by lightening.

Although my parents knew how much I loved that tree, one day they criticized Green by telling me: “Your favorite tree is of no use at all! No matter how big it is, it does not give flowers or fruit; nevertheless we notice how you devote your life to that tree!” 

In my mind, Green was my best friend.  It was Green that I liked and trusted more than anybody else.  Green may not have flowers and fruit for me, but I had never thought of drawing any profit from it. Having it in my life had already served my great interest.

I included Green in every day of my life.  I was happy.  I could make Green laugh with me, be sad with me, and I even asked him to help boost my self-esteem.  Though Green didn’t know how to speak to me, I seemed to understand all about his feelings.  I thought Green knew how to read just like I did because I had sat and read out loud under his shade from first grade on so Green could memorize my lessons.  When I got a good grade, we had a party with plenty of food.  What I regretted the most was that Green did no know how to eat the foods and desert I bought for him.  Each time we had a party, I could only eat to taunt Green.  No matter what, what made me happy was the happiness that Green granted to me; and I thought there could be no occasion that would make me happy without Green there to participate.

One afternoon, the weather was bad.  I slept with my back tilted against Green, my hand held a novel on my chest.  I was stressed today.  Although yesterday was a happy day for me and Green, I could not imagine that what made us happy yesterday would be replaced by sorrow today. I spoke to Green, “Should I be a tree like you, I would not leave you; and should you be human, we would certainly go everywhere together.  If shouldn’t I pass my High School Baccalaureate II, I wouldn’t be as depressed as I am now, right?” 

I asked myself, “Why am I this ignorant?  Living as a human being is difficult. One just can’t do whatever he wants.”  I said to Green, “I only want to sleep with my back tilted against you, to read stories for you to hear. Is that wrong?  I have to go away to continue my studies for a better future, but it seems that I will be giving away all the happiness I now have.  Time flies, non-stop, and I cannot live by you any longer. We have little time left, don’t we?  I simply want time to go slowly, while I live close to you.”  I then hugged Green, sobbing, and the wind shook Green’s leaves, which also made a sobbing sound. 

It’s been six months since I left Green and I’ve missed him every day.  One day I missed him a hundred times.  At night I missed him so much.  I shed tears on my pillow and dreamed that Green told me that he also missed me so much.  He doesn’t want to be separated any longer.  This dream really was a sad omen.  What made me the most upset was to see that Green had lost all of his leaves and had said good bye to me.

I woke up in the middle of the night.  I sat and looked at the sky in the direction of my native village where Green was living alone, and I saw a little green light flew slowly up into the sky and disappeared among the stars. 

Green, my friend!  I came back to my village.  I ran to Green, but the spot where he used to stand was empty.  He had totally disappeared.  My mother walked toward me and told me the whole story: while I was away for three months, Green had gradually lost his leaves and died. 

I sat on Green’s stump and shed tears.  My chest was tight.  I became mute and could not share my feelings with anybody.  Green’s leaves were rotting and had almost disappeared.  I asked myself, “What should I do when my friend is gone away from me forever?” And I asked Green in the air, “Green!  Why didn’t you have the patience to wait for my return?”

Entry filed under: រឿងខ្លី.

ចូលចិត្ត ឈិត សុវណ្ណបញ្ញា ទេ? នេះជារឿងឈឺចាប់…

11 មតិ Add your own

  • 1. សុភា  |  ខែមករា 8, 2010 ម៉ោង 1:57 ព្រឹក

    បើគ្មានធម្មជាតិក៏គ្មានបៃតងដែរ។ បើយើងបំផ្លាញធម្មជាតិ នោះយើងក៏មិនអាចឃើញពណ៌បៃតងដែរ។ ខ្ញុំចេះតែថាទេ ព្រោះឃើញរឿងនេះដូចជាអាថកំបាំងណាស់ មិនដឹងថាអ្នកនិពន្ធចង់និយាយពីអ្វីផង

    ឆ្លើយតប
  • 2. Navy  |  ខែមករា 8, 2010 ម៉ោង 8:49 ព្រឹក

    How beautiful story it is! It melt my heart! Thanks for sharing.

    ឆ្លើយតប
  • 3. ក្មេងតូច  |  ខែមករា 8, 2010 ម៉ោង 2:34 ល្ងាច

    មើលអត់យល់អីម៉ាមាត់ 😥

    ឆ្លើយតប
  • 4. រាសីហ៍  |  ខែមករា 8, 2010 ម៉ោង 4:41 ល្ងាច

    ទង្វើ​របស់​មនុស្ស​​បាន​បំផ្លាញ​​ធម្មជាតិ​ដោយ​ផ្ទាល់​និង​ប្រយោល។ ដើម​បៃតង​ប្រហែល​ជា​ទ្រាំ​លែង​បាន​នឹង​ការ​ផ្លាស់​ប្តូរ​ដ៏​ខ្លាំង​ក្លា​នៃ​អាកាសធាតុ ឬ ការ​កើន​ឡើង​កំដៅ​នៃ​ផែន​ដី​​ហើយ​។ តើ​មាន​មនុស្ស​ច្រើន​ទេ​ដែល​មាន​និស្ស័យ​ដូច​ធម្មជាតិ? មនុស្ស​គួរ​តែ​មាន​មនោសច្ចេតនា​មួយ​ដែល​ខ្លាំង​ក្លា​នឹង​ធម្មជាតិ បើ​ពុំ​នោះ​ទេ​គេ​នឹង​ទទួល​រង​គ្រោះ​ពី​ទង្វើ​របស់​គេ។ ការ​ប្រជុំ​នៅ​កូប៉ិន​ហាក​បាន​បញ្ចប់​ទៅ​ដោយ​មិន​មាន​លទ្ឋផល​មួយ​ដែល​គួរ​អោយ​កត់​សម្គាល់​ខណៈ​ពេល​ដែល​សន្ឋិសញ្ញា​ក្យូតូ​ជិត​ចប់។ តើ​ពិភព​លោក​នឹង​ទៅ​ជា​យ៉ាង​ណា? តើ​មាន​រឿង​សោក​សៅ​ដូច​ដែល​បាន​កើត​ឡើង​ទៅ​លើ​បៃតងច្រើន​ប៉ុណ្ណា​ទៀត​ទៅ?

    ឆ្លើយតប
  • 5. Narak  |  ខែមករា 9, 2010 ម៉ោង 11:23 ល្ងាច

    បងផល! មានអត្ថបទហ្នឹងជាភាសាខ្មែរអត់? ញ៉ុមអត់ចេះមើលទេ! ញ៉ុមចេះអង់គ្លេសតិចណាស! ញ៉ុមចង់បានវាជាភាសាខ្មែរស្រួលមើល ឆាប់យល់។ បង! ប្រាប់អ្នកចូលលេងផ្ទះបងទាំអស់ថា រស្មីងហង្សមាស ចេញវីស៊ីឌីថ្មី វ៉ុល 157 និង 158។ ពិរោះណាស់ ជាពិសេសជាងគេ គឺបទ Don’t touch me ច្រៀងដោយបងរាជ និង បងកញ្ញា។ អូ៎! ភ្លេចប្រាប់ បទ “កុំប្រញាប់ប្រាប់ថាស្រលាញ់” ក៏ចេញដែរ ពិរោះណាស់។ កុំភ្លេចទិញស្តាប់ទាំងអស់គ្នាណា!

    ឆ្លើយតប
    • 6. ចាន់ផល  |  ខែមករា 11, 2010 ម៉ោង 3:55 ល្ងាច

      អត្ថបទជាខ្មែរក៏មានដែរ គឺ Read this story in Khmer: ចុចលើអក្សរពណ៌ត្រួយចេក Nature and Green ទៅ នឹងបានអានជាភាសាខ្មែរហើយ។

      ឆ្លើយតប
  • 7. Kounila  |  ខែមករា 10, 2010 ម៉ោង 11:13 ល្ងាច

    រឿងនេះ ល្អណាស់។​ តើញុំអាចទិញសៀវភៅនេះ នៅណា?​

    ឆ្លើយតប
  • 9. ក្មេងតូច  |  ខែមករា 11, 2010 ម៉ោង 4:25 ល្ងាច

    ឈឺចិត្តដល់ហើយ 😥
    ឲ្យតា pdf ញុមបើកអត់ចេញសោះ 😥

    ឆ្លើយតប
  • 10. oudomheng  |  ខែកញ្ញា 26, 2010 ម៉ោង 6:52 ព្រឹក

    😀

    ឆ្លើយតប
  • 11. ហួត លី  |  ខែតុលា 13, 2010 ម៉ោង 5:12 ល្ងាច

    ធម្មជាតិមានភាពស្មោះត្រង់ជាងមនុស្ស!

    ឆ្លើយតប

ឆ្លើយ​តប

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


កម្ពុជា-CAMBODIA

ប្រកាសថ្មីៗ

ចំណាត់ក្រុម

ស្នាដៃ

Blog Stats

  • 177,585 hits
Visit Cute-Spot.com!

